Keene Pumpkin festival


Mickey Pullen Photo


Statement of Purpose

The Pumpkin Festival is

a community-hosted, family-friendly

celebration of fall

and of what is unique about Keene

and the Monadnock region.

It is also a celebration of

artistry and creativity and

a demonstration of

our area’s commitment to

non-profit efforts to serve

those in need.


Let it Shine, Inc.








2012 Discover Card Awards

2012 Pumpkin Dump Derby $prizes

HGTV Property Brothers "Pumpkin Wars"


About us

The Keene Pumpkin Festival was saved from extinction in 2010 by a new non-profit organization named Let it Shine, Inc., formed for one purpose: to continue the magical pumpkin tradition. Let it Shine was incorporated in February of 2011 and was notified of its 501(c)(3) non-profit status in a letter dated October 31, 2011... yes, Halloween!


A key member of the P-fest Action Team is John Hayes, a lawyer with experience with the state of NH--he brings legal knowledge as well as familiarity with our city and state departments to our team.


The festival's management team, STERLING Design & Communications, organizes events, creates communications programs, and designs public relations programs. Owner Ruth Sterling worked on the original festivals 20 years ago. The festival's creator, visionary Nancy Sporborg, works with STERLING Design & Communications as a writer/creative consultant.


The festival is the product of hundreds of hours of volunteer labor as well as the efforts of professional event staff. No cause could be any more rewarding. If you have a skill, talent or interest, or just love the festival like we do, consider getting involved.

Ready to sign up to help?



Board of Directors
President: Lisa Edwards

Sec/Treasurer: John Hayes, Attorney

Alex Bates

Ted McGreer

Ken Hathaway

Luca Paris

Angela Criswell

Mike Haines, director emeritus

Management Team

STERLING Design & Communications
Ruth Sterling, MBA, principal


Action Team
All of the above plus

Henry Moore

Jessica Gagne Cloutier, KSC


Original Advisory Team

Harry Boynton, SWNH Fire Mutual Aid
Tim Maguire, Ski Mgmt.
Dr. Charles F. Post
Dr. Anna Elissa Zengel
Daniel V. Scully, Architect
Nancy Sporborg, Festival Creator
Roger Weinreich, Good Fortune
Ted McGreer, Ted’s Shoe & Sport
Mike Blaisdell, Geiger Brothers
Jim Hogancamp, CPA
Art Nichols, CMC/DHK
Don Arguin, Markem-Imaje
Denise Meadows, Monadnock Travel Council
Susan Farrell, Kiwanis